Arizona Spelling

Aired Wednesday, April 20 at 9 p.m., 2016

Each year, the state's best spellers in grades K-8 come together for the Arizona Spelling Bee to determine who will represent Arizona in the Scripps National Spelling Bee in Washington, D.C. Hosted by Arizona PBS, the Arizona Spelling Bee is taped at the Arizona PBS studios on the downtown Phoenix campus of Arizona State University.

The winner and an escort receive an all-expense paid trip to our nation's capital to compete with spellers from across the U.S. on May 26–May 28, 2016.

An Arizona PBS original production made possible by the Arizona Educational Foundation.

The Spelling Bee challenges children to utilize their spelling and phonetic skills in a competitive environment. The finalists must first win a series of competitions at local, district and regional or county levels. The 27 winners from the county spelling bees compete in the 2016 Arizona Spelling Bee.

Previous years' contests

Congratulations to all the contestants!

Finalists :

  • Kameryn Greer
    7th Grade
    St. Johns Middle School
    (St. Johns)

  • Ethan Johnson
    8th Grade
    Center for Academic Success
    (Sierra Vista)

  • Katrina Vollmer
    7th Grade
    San Francisco de Asis Catholic School

  • Chris Provido
    8th Grade
    High Desert Middle School

  • Callie Konopnicki
    8th Grade
    Safford Middle School

  • Keanna Cortez
    8th Grade
    Fairbanks Middle School

  • Adianne Alamban
    8th Grade
    Wallace Jr. High School

  • Tommy LaPenna
    8th Grade
    Kyrene Middle School

  • Jackson Springer
    5th Grade
    Barbara Bush Elementary School

  • Nicola Ferguson
    7th Grade
    Sunrise Middle School

  • Keshav Nandakumar
    8th Grade
    Sierra Verde STEM Academy

  • Lindsay Davis
    6th Grade
    Vista del Sur Accelerated Academy

  • Amutha Rajasundaram
    4th Grade
    Madison Heights Elementary School

  • Michael Davey
    7th Grade
    Parkridge Elementary School

  • Jaidyn Mallon
    6th Grade
    Lookout Mountain Elementary School

  • Tatiana Asadourian
    6th Grade
    Desert Oasis Elementary School

  • Chelsea Lee
    8th Grade
    Westpoint Elementary School

  • Michael Chen
    7th Grade
    BASIS Chandler

  • Amber Kassisieh
    8th Grade
    South Valley Jr. High School

  • Johan Perea
    6th Grade
    Havasupai Elementary School
    (Lake Havasu City)

  • Jett Jue
    6th Grade
    Bonnie Brennan Elementary School

  • Matthew Glasshoff
    8th Grade
    Marana Middle School

  • Sai Konkimalla
    5th Grade
    BASIS Oro Valley
    (Oro Valley)

  • Freya Abraham
    8th Grade
    Legacy Traditional School

  • Grecia Solorio
    5th Grade
    Mary L. Welty Elementary School

  • Tanner Dodt
    6th Grade
    Heritage Christian Home Educators
    (Prescott Valley)

  • Yazan Abdella
    8th Grade
    Crane Middle School

*contestants arranged in alphabetical order by county

Back to top

Previous Years Videos