Arizona Spelling Bee 2012

Aired April 5, 2013 at 8 p.m.

Each year, the state's best spellers in grades K-8 come together for the Arizona Spelling Bee to determine who will represent Arizona in the Scripps National Spelling Bee in Washington, D.C. Hosted by Eight, Arizona PBS, the Arizona Spelling Bee is taped at the Eight studios on the downtown Phoenix campus of Arizona State University.

The winner and an escort receive an all-expense paid trip to our nation's capital to compete with spellers from across the U.S. on May 28-30, 2013.

The Arizona Spelling Bee 2013 aired Friday, April 5 at 8 p.m. on Eight HD.

An Eight original production made possible by the Arizona Educational Foundation.

The Spelling Bee challenges children to utilize their spelling and phonetic skills in a competitive environment. The finalists must first win a series of competitions at local, district and regional or county levels. The 27 winners from the county spelling bees competed in the 2013 Arizona Spelling Bee.

Previous years' contests


Congratulations to all the contestants!



Christopher O'Connor
7th Grade
St. Cyril of Alexandria Catholic School

Mathews Sajan
6th Grade
Highland Lakes School

Tommy LaPenna
5th Grade
C.I. Waggoner Elementary School

Cal Hargis
8th Grade
Safford Middle School

Magda Rodriguez
8th Grade
Morris K. Udall School


Finalists :

Johanna Jessop
7th Grade
Concho Elementary School

Brianna Cargile
8th Grade
Valley View Elementary School

Lucas Crane
8th Grade
BASIS Flagstaff

Colin Nossek
8th Grade
Rim Country Middle School

Lorenzo Harris
5th Grade
Duncan Elementary School

Aubry Herrell
8th Grade
Wallace Jr. High School

Jack Piorkowski
4th Grade
Kyrene de la Colina School

Caleb Fisher
6th Grade
North Ranch Elementary School

Emerley Tith
8th Grade
Vista del Sur Traditional School

Magda Rodriguez
8th Grade
Morris K. Udall School

Karl Alcance
6th Grade
Abraham Lincoln Traditional School

Mariano Yanez Ibarra
8th Grade
Royal Palm Middle School

Adrian Cracolici
8th Grade
Verrado Middle School

Jevon Carbonell
6th Grade
Dos Rios Elementary School

Rashi Magiyawala
5th Grade
New Vistas Center for Education

Jonathan Shimabukuro
7th Grade
Mesquite Jr. High School

Isaac Hammon
8th Grade
Masada Charter School
(Centennial Park)

Natalia Areno
7th Grade
Blue Ridge Jr. High School

Michael Chen
4th Grade
Copper Creek Elementary School
(Oro Valley)

Robbie Errico
8th Grade
Legacy Traditional School
(Casa Grande)

Valeria Arvizu
8th Grade
Coatimundi Middle School
(Rio Rico)

Daxton Bryce
8th Grade
Granite Mountain Middle School

Victoria Pena
8th Grade
Crane Middle School

*contestants arranged in alphabetical order by county

Back to top


Previous Years Videos

2012    2011    2010    2009

What's on?
  About KAET Contact Support Legal Follow Us  
  About Eight
Site Map
Contact Us
Sign up for e-news
Pledge to Eight
Donate Monthly
Other ways to support
FCC Public Files
Privacy Policy

Need help accessing? Contact

Eight is a member-supported service of Arizona State University    Copyright Arizona Board of Regents