Arizona Spelling Bee 2010


Each year, the state’s best spellers in K-8 come together for the Arizona Spelling Bee to determine who will represent Arizona in the Scripps National Spelling Bee in Washington, D.C.  Hosted by Eight, Arizona PBS the annual event is taped at the Eight studios on the downtown Phoenix campus of Arizona State University. The winner and an escort receive an all-expense paid trip to Washington, D.C. to compete with spellers from across the nation. 

The Spelling Bee challenges children to utilize their spelling and phonetic skills in a competitive environment. The  finalists must first win a series of competitions at local, district and regional or county levels.

The Arizona Spelling Bee 2010 is made possible, in part, by support from the Arizona Educational Foundation.

2010 Finalists:

Student, Grade, School, City                                                County

Parker Greer, 8, St. Johns Middle School, St. Johns - Apache

Cheyenne Davis, 7, St. David School, St. David - Cochise

Meredith Young, 7 , Homeschool (Flagstaff Home Educators), Flagstaff - Coconino

Alexandra Mack, 7, High Desert Middle School, Globe - Gila

Makayla Hancock, 7, Pima Jr. High School, Pima - Graham

Jamie Lynn Price, 8, Duncan Jr. High School, Duncan - Greenlee

Andrew Alamban, 6, Wallace Elementary School, Parker - La Paz

Anjali Nair, 8, McKemy Middle School, Tempe - Maricopa -1 - WINNER

Hannah Miao, 6, Kyrene Aprende Middle School, Chandler - Maricopa – 1

Morgan Richman, 7, Phoenix Country Day School, Paradise Valley - Maricopa-2 - SECOND PLACE

Mallory Klinger, 5, Cherokee Elementary School, Scottsdale - Maricopa-2

Hannah Fechter, 8, Alhambra Traditional School, Phoenix - Maricopa -2

Andres Ruano, 7, Dr. Bernard Black Elementary, Phoenix - Maricopa-3

Michael Gintz, 4, Candeo, Peoria, Phoenix - Maricopa-4

Mark Morrissey, 6, Lookout Mountain School, Phoenix - Maricopa-4

Ronae Matriano, 7, Estrella Vista Elementary, Avondale - Maricopa-5

Jose Fierro, 8, Western Sky Middle School, Goodyear - Maricopa-5 - FOURTH PLACE

Mitchell Behling, 7, Hamilton Preparatory Academy, Chandler - Maricopa-6 - THIRD PLACE

Teja Tangirala, 6, Paragon Science Academy, Chandler - Maricopa-6 - FIFTH PLACE

Mikkaela Salamatin, 8, Young Scholars Academy, Fort Mohave - Mohave

Andy Powell, 6, Snowflake Intermediate School, Snowflake - Navajo

David Wang, 6, Sonoran Science Academy, Tucson - Pima

Ben Klinkenberg, 8, St. Michael’s, Tucson - Pima

Austin Ryba, 8, San Tan Heights Elementary School, Queen Creek - Pinal

Ruben Bojorquez, 5, Mountain View Elementary, Rio Rico - Santa Cruz

Michela Hardin, 7, Liberty Traditional School, Prescott Valley - Yavapai

Zeeshan Jawaid, 5, Pueblo Elementary School, Yuma - Yuma

What's on?
  About KAET Contact Support Legal Follow Us  
  About Eight
Site Map
Contact Us
Sign up for e-news
Pledge to Eight
Donate Monthly
Other ways to support
FCC Public Files
Privacy Policy

Need help accessing? Contact

Eight is a member-supported service of Arizona State University    Copyright Arizona Board of Regents