Each year, the state’s best spellers in K-8 come together for the Arizona Spelling Bee to determine who will represent Arizona in the Scripps National Spelling Bee in Washington, D.C.  Hosted by Eight/KAET-TV, the annual event is taped at the Eight studios on the campus of Arizona State University. The winner and an escort receive an all-expense paid trip to Washington, D.C. to compete with spellers from across the nation. 

Judges are W. Gary Hull, SRP and Arizona Educational Foundation; Danielle Yuhasz, Community Relations Manager, U.S. Airways; and Jeannine Berg, Community Partnerships, Eight/KAET.

The Spelling Bee challenges children to utilize their spelling and phonetic skills in a competitive environment. The  finalists must first win a series of competitions at local, district and regional or county levels.

Arizona Spelling Bee 2009 Finalists

Student, Grade, School, City   County
Parker Greer, 7th grade, St. Johns Middle School, St. Johns   Apache
Cheyenne Davis, 6th grade, St. David Middle School, St. David Cochise
Austin Crane, 6th grade, DeMiguel Elementary School, Flagstaff Coconino
Irene Pitterle, 8th grade, Holy Angels Catholic School, Globe  Gila
Seth Brummer, 8th grade, Home School, Pima  Graham
Anthony Perez, 8th grade, Duncan Elementary School, Duncan Greenlee
Jessica Rascon, 8th grade, The Scholars’ Academy, Quartzsite  La Paz
Raymie Humbert, 8th grade, Kyrene del Pueblo School, Chandler - 2ND Place Maricopa - Region 1
Hannah Miao, 5th grade, Kyrene del Sureno School, Chandler     Maricopa - Region 1
So-Young Chung, 7th grade, Terramar Elementary School, Peoria- WINNER Maricopa - Region 2
Michael Haarmann, 6th grade, Highland Lakes Elementary School,
Maricopa - Region 2
Hannah Fechter, 7th grade, Alhambra Traditional School, Phoenix - 4TH Place Maricopa - Region 3
Connor Wade, 8th grade, Vista Del Sur School, Laveen   Maricopa - Region 3
Jose Corral, 8th grade, Sweetwater School, Glendale Maricopa - Region 4
Mark Morrissey, 5th grade, Lookout Mountain School, Phoenix   Maricopa - Region 4
Alondra Gomez, 7th grade, Carden Traditional School, Surprise   Maricopa - Region 5
Jazmyne Holwegner, 5th grade, Ruth Fisher Elementary School, Tonopah Maricopa - Region 5
Vikaas Krithivas, 7th grade, Hamilton Prep, Chandler Maricopa - Region 6
Jason Qian, 6th grade, Highland Park Elementary School, Gilbert Maricopa - Region 6
David Joe, 8th grade, White Cliffs Middle School, Kingman  - 5TH Place Mohave
Krista Keeley, 6th grade, Blue Ridge Middle School, Lakeside    Navajo
Jim Denker, 8th grade, Christian Home Educators, Tucson - 3RD Place Pima
Evan Mayer, 8th grade, Cross Middle School, Tucson  Pima
Aniket Panda, 7th grade, Cactus Middle School, Casa Grande  Pinal
Annel Rojas, 5th grade, Francisco Vasquez de Coronado School, Nogales Santa Cruz
Kelly Johnson, 8th grade, Heritage Christian Home Educators,
Chino Valley        
Zeeshan Jawaid, 4th grade, Pueblo Elementary School, Yuma Yuma


What's on?
  About KAET Contact Support Legal Follow Us  
  About Eight
Site Map
Contact Us
Sign up for e-news
Pledge to Eight
Donate Monthly
Other ways to support
FCC Public Files
Privacy Policy

Need help accessing? Contact

Eight is a member-supported service of Arizona State University    Copyright Arizona Board of Regents