Back to Pressroom Home      



-Vintage Footage of Legendary Artists along with New Performances of Classic Songs-

John Sebastian Presents: Folk Rewind focuses on the greatest singers and songwriters of the classic 1950s and 1960s folk era.  Presented by the lead singer of The Lovin’ Spoonful (“Do You Believe In Magic”), Folk Rewind features a treasure trove of historical footage that has not been seen in over four decades plus new performances by artists who are still appearing in concert today. Folk Rewind airs Saturday, October 15, 2011 at 8 p.m. on Eight.

Folk Rewind’s highlights include a Pete Seeger and Judy Collins duet on Seeger’s iconic adaptation of “Turn, Turn, Turn,” Harry Belafonte’s hit “Jamaica Farewell,” Trini Lopez’s version of “If I Had a Hammer” and Bobby Darin’s heartfelt  “Simple Song of Freedom.”

Among the beloved folk groups represented in vintage footage are The Kingston Trio (“Where Have All the Flowers Gone”), The New Christy Minstrels (“Green, Green”), The Limeliters (“There’s a Meeting Here Tonight”), The Serendipity Singers (“Crooked Little Man”) and The Brothers Four (“Green Fields”). In addition, The Highwaymen and The Rooftop Singers present their million-selling number one hits “Michael” and “Walk Right In.”

Stirring performances on stage are offered by more folk legends. The original Chad Mitchell Trio reunite for Bob Dylan’s anthem “Blowin’ in the Wind” and Roger McGuinn of The Byrds offers an encore of “Turn, Turn, Turn.”  Barry McGuire sings his 1965 chart-topper “The Eve of Destruction” and Jesse Colin Young of The Youngbloods performs the generation-defining hit “Get Together.”

Folk Rewind features these memorable classics:

  • “Jamaica Farewell” - Harry Belafonte
  • “MTA” - Kingston Trio
  • “A Worried Man” - Kingston Trio
  • “Where Have All The Flowers Gone?” - Kingston Trio
  • “There's A Meeting Here Tonight” - The Limeliters
  • “Michael” – The Highwaymen
  • Don't Let The Rain Come Down” - Serendipity Singers
  • “Today” - New Christy Minstrels
  • “Green Fields” - The Brothers Four
  • “500 Miles To Go” - The Brothers Four
  • “A Simple Song Of Freedom” - Bobby Darin
  • Walk Right In” - The Rooftop Singers
  •  “Lemon Tree” - Peter, Paul and Mary
  • “If I Had A Hammer” - Trini Lopez
  • “Turn, Turn, Turn” - Pete Seeger & Judy Collins
  •  “Mighty Day” - The Chad Mitchell Trio
  • “Blowin’ In The Wind” - The Chad Mitchell Trio
  • “Get Together” - Jesse Colin Young of the Youngbloods
  • “Eve Of Destruction” - Barry McGuire
  • “My Back Pages” - Roger McGuinn
  • “Turn, Turn, Turn” - Roger McGuinn


Media Contact:  Colleen O’Donnell Pierce
(602) 496-0579
(602) 478-3867 (cell)


About Arizona PBS

Arizona PBS is a trusted community resource.  For over 52 years, the PBS station has focused on educating children, reporting in-depth on public affairs, fostering lifelong learning and celebrating arts and culture. Arizona PBS achieves its mission through the power of non-commercial television, the Internet, educational outreach and community-based initiatives. Its signal reaches 80 percent of the homes in Arizona. With more than 1 million viewers weekly, Arizona PBS consistently ranks among the most-viewed public television stations per capita in the country. For more information, visit or follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Instagram, Pinterest or Tumblr.

Arizona PBS is a member-supported community service of Arizona State University and the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication.



Need help accessing? Contact

Arizona PBS is a member-supported service of Arizona State University   Copyright Arizona Board of Regents