Books & Co.
Alison Deming - The Monarchs
Airdate: June 24, 1998

About the Author

Alison Deming is the author of six books, including "Science and Other Poems," "The Monarchs: A Poem Sequence," "Temporary Homelands" and "Girls in the Jungle: What Does It Take for a Woman to Survive as an Artist?" She has edited "Poetry of the American West: A Columbia Anthology." Among other awards, she has received a Wallace Stegner Fellowship at Stanford University, two NEA Fellowships, a Pushcart Prize and a fellowship from the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown. She is an Associate Professor of Creative Writing at the University of Arizona as well as the former director of the UA Poetry Center.



About this Book

"The Monarchs," a six-poem sequence, embodies both the strength and fragility of the natural world. Inspired by the migration of the monarch butterfly, "The Monarchs" is an extended meditation on intelligence in nature - human and otherwise - and the often troubled relationshipour species has with itself and others.




More Resources

Alison Deming's website