Books & Co.
Diana Gabaldon - Drums of Autumn
Airdate: July 9, 1997

About the Author

Acclaimed author Diana Gabaldon grew up in Flagstaff, Arizona, where she continues to spend as much time as she can writing in the comforts of her family home. Most of her time, however, is spent in Scottsdale, Arizona, where she lives with her husband, three children and a large number of animals. She holds a B.S. in Zoology from Northern Arizona University, M.S. in Marine Biology from the University of California, San Diego, and a Ph.D. in Ecology from Northern Arizona University. After working for a number of years as a laboratory technician, researcher, ecologist and freelance nonfiction writer, Gabaldon pursued her creative writing passion and penned her first novel, "Dragonfly in Amber." Since then, her Outlander Series books have been consistently listed on best-seller lists across the country.



About this Book

Reunited lovers Jamie and Claire arrive in America with their nephew Ian and start a settlement called Fraser's Ridge. Meanwhile, in the 20th century, their daughter, Brianna, and her lover, Roger, come across a notice of Jamie and Claire's impending deaths in an old newspaper. Brianna travels back in time to warn them with Roger following close behind. Claire and Brianna are reunited, and Jamie meets his daughter for the first time, but after a misunderstanding and a violent attack, Brianna and Roger are seperated, and Brianna may be stranded in the past forever.




More Resources

Diana Gabaldon's website

Outlander Series:
"A Breath of Snow and Ashes" (2005)
"The Fiery Cross" (2002)
"Drums of Autumn" (1997)
"Voyage" (1993)
"Dragonfly in Amber" (1992)

Other Books:
"Lord John and the Private Matter" (2003)
"The Outlandish Companion" (also titled "Through the Stones" 1999)